Thursday, December 14, 2006

The Storm of The Century..or at least the last couple of years...

Music: Misty Mountain Hop: Led Zeppelin
Thoughts: HOO BABY! We got us a live one!

Thought it would be a good idea to update this blog because as of right now, we are smack dab in the middle of a great coastal storm. Yup, that's right...we've already lost power once tonight and there are wind gusts up to 100 mph coming through this part of the world. The picture posted is my balcony which once again lost the divider to the adjoining unit (the last one that fell was on the OTHER side and they seem to have secured THAT one pretty good as it's holding up against the brunt of the storm. This is why I love living at the coast...the element of danger...but not too dangerous, at least I know now kinda what the hurricanes of Florida must be like (only I'm sure they are MUCH more powerful).
Had to call in sick today, partly because of the storm but mostly because it seems I've come down with whatever new strange Asian disease the children of Lincoln County are currently passing around. Got the usual stuffyness and clogged up chest....UCK! Also they wanted me to pull a 3:30PM-1:00AM shift and turn around and go right back at 9:00 AM tomorrow....FORGET THAT! I would probably do it if I wasn't feeling as bad as I am, but as it is....I'll be back there before I know it...
Got hooked on the new version of MySpace for comic creators and apprecianados called what else..Comic Space . Not a whole lot to do now, but it looks to be quite the networking tool. Looking for creators to help out on Ka-Whump!, this just might be a good thing...running across alot of really talented people that I might otherwise overlook (and I've got 71 "friends" in just one day of joining!). If you get a chance, check it out...so far there's no place to respond to comments made to your homepage, but hopefully that'll change soon.
That's about it for now...still pretty windy outside, hope our sliding glass doors can stand up to it!
Until then, Keep Creatin'!
F

Sunday, December 10, 2006

Music: Magnolia Simms: The Monkees
Thoughts: Hypocrisy In Action

You know, I try not to talk bad about people because I understand that not everyone is quite as level or big headed as me...just kidding.
but sometimes, you just gotta take a stand and put your cards on the table and tell it like it is...this is one of those times.

I usually try and keep my politics to myself although most of you who know me know where I stand on things, but this time, I just gotta lay into someone....so get ready for a rant...and click the pic for a better idea of how I feel about political hypocrites.

That "someone" is Oregon senator Gordon Smith(R). Ok, here's a guy that I didn't like to begin with, this clown looks like a television evangelist straight out of Oral Roberts University. He's always taken the total right when it comes to ANY legislation that has to do with helping the poor, the sick and the elderly. If it's beneficial to multimillion corporations or anyone else that can fund his campaigns, then he's all for it. I think he's even had our supposed president over a few times to help him campaign (i.e. make him more money than he knows what to do with). So why am I so adamant about attacking this loser? Here's why, http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16115379/ Senator Smith now says that the Iraqi war is "criminal" and an outrage even though he's been gung ho from the start to send our boys over there to destroy the country (not that the soldiers themselves are personally destroying it mind you...but more ol' G.W. and his fantasy of being Superman moreso). He's voted for anything and everything that would support keeping our troops there "until the job is done". So why the about face now? well, let's see.....hmmm.....Republicans have seem to have lost favor with the public after being decimated in the last election....more people are coming to their senses (71%) and starting to think GW may have not been totally up front with us.....big surprise! Sheesh! I coulda told you that 5 years ago!
So now that everyone seems to be leaning toward the left, this has Gordy worried about his own political future....what to do....what to do.....I know! How about acting like I'm feeling the same as the majority and chastizing the war and the policies that got us into this mess...even though he helped those policies with his support and pompous attitude towards Iraq. I could go on and on, but what's the point....this guy's a jerk, let's get more of HIS kind out of office so we can finally start concentrating on helping our own instead of leaving others worse off.
On the same line, I'd just like to say that if ANYONE deserves to be the next president, it's our other Senator from Oregon Ron Wyden....now here's a real human who constantly devotes his time to help the elderly and work towards more affordable and accessible health care. I don't know Senator Wyden personally, but I vote for him every chance I can...in a Capitol full of stuffed shirts and arrogant millionaires, he's just a regular guy trying to do what's right.....RUN RON RUN!!! Heck, let's just all do a write in for the guy....here's his webpage http://wyden.senate.gov/
Ok...just had to share...that's all...next time...no more politics...I promise!...well...maybe...after all, Bush is going to try again to convince us that we really CAN win the war in Iraq....would have been much simpler if we had a decent supreme court after his first "election"...
F

Wednesday, December 06, 2006

The Fall of The House of Topps...or....Is this REALLY happening?

Music: Silver Bells: Dean Martin
Thoughts: Wacky Packages, slow computers and a big tapeworm

Well, the new series of Wacky Packages is out and being such a nut for wackies (or wackys as they are better known), I had to get me a couple packs when I first saw the 4th series out. So I bought myself two packs and bought a couple more for the boys (Kyran was the only with us so I figured Etienne would want one too when he got home from school....shows you what I know...he would have rather had a pack of Naruto cards...silly boy) So in the car, I opened my first pack and what do I find.....DOUBLES! So I figured it was just a one in a thousand chance so I open my other pack and what do I find???.....TWO SETS OF DOUBLES! So out of only 5 cards per pack, I only got three good cards! I figured it was just Floydian luck but then Kyran opened his pack and he ALSO got doubles....I started to sense a pattern....so when we got home I watched closely as Etienne opened his pack....and lo and behold....MORE DOUBLES! Once again, I chalked it all up to coporate earth cheating the consumer.....if Topps is putting doubles in EVERY pack, then I'm afraid my wacky days are over.....Although there are some good cards in the series and Topps has even returned the familiar gum to the packages along with "classic" foil cards and magnets, I cannot be a part of such a sneaky lowdown trick....how can they do this to CHILDREN....much less the children at heart like me.....we've approached a sad sad time ...
I wanted to post a couple of my favorite wackys from the new series, but apparently blogger is sleeping right now and won't let me download any pics....that's why yer stuck with just boring old letters this time around.
Along the same lines as the great wacky debacle is the great Coca Cola ripoff....is it just me or has anyone else noticed that the Coca Cola company quietly decided to start filling their bottles less full of soda and still saying that it's the same size? I notice these things and it cheeses me off.....when I buy a bottle of pop, I want a nice FULL bottle....the new coca cola bottles look like someone has already taken a swig out of them....from the 12oz to the 2 liter.....go check next time you are in a store....trust me on this....each ounce Coca Cola takes from all the bottles they fill probably adds up to ALOT of extra bottles and Thousands of dollars.....those Mormons are crafty I tell ya!
While I'm on the subject of pop....or soda...or whatever you may call it....let me say that Pepsi is not free from my grasp either....my beef with them is that they've "improved" the taste of Wild Cherry Pepsi....it used to be one of my favorites, but now it tastes to me like DIET!...What The Hell?!?!?!? Can't anyone leave anything alone???? So now, I have to buy Cherry Coke instead of Wild Cherry Pepsi because it tastes better....but guess what.....That;s right, They don't give you as much because they aren't filling the bottles up all the way!.....Is there no hope for mankind......and don't get me started on when they changed the label of Mountain Dew in '96 and took out all the carbonation....I'm doomed I tell ya....just doomed.......
That's it for today's exciting episode.....HEY! is anybody gonna leave me some comments??....just wondering'.....
Keep Creatin'
F

Sunday, December 03, 2006

All I want for Christmas

Music: Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree: Brenda Lee
Thoughts: Getting things done!

Ok, last entry I talked about things I DON'T want for Christmas, this time I'll let everyone know what's on MY Christmas list..Or just weird things that EVERYONE should own!




1. The Drive In Exchange has released the ULTIMATE Drive In Intermission DVD taken from the 12 volumes of Something Weird Video's compilations and added some extra surprises......IT'S REFRESHMENT TIME!!



2. One of my favorites from Saturday morning has returned in this 2 DVD set of LANCELOT LINK! Thrills to the exciting exploits of the greatest super primate spy the world has ever known...well, at least when I was a kid, it was exciting...now it's probably pretty corny...but that makes it all the more of a MUST SEE TV!!



3. Can't get enough fun in the tub? Here's a great gift for the obsessive bather on your xmas list... celebrity rubber duckies! Shown here is Mr. T, but they come in everyone from Laurel and Hardy to Tim Curry's Dr. Frankenfurter from the Rocky Horror Picture Show! Don't believe me? Find them here at celebriducks.com.



4. My latest obsession is with the company FUNKO who produces TONS of cool Wacky Wobblers and a line called Spastik Plastik....the containers alone are worth having...but the figures come in a great variety of retro looking freaks and creeps! As you can see...my favorite wobbler on my wish list is Colonel Sanders...but I also want the Franken-Berry in his Hot Rod....VROOOM VROOM!! Check out their great website at http://www.funko.com/



5. Here's the COOLEST set of figures that I've seen in awhile, it's the Horrified B-Movie Victims playset....A group of hapless innocent bystanders just waiting for the right disaster or giant creature to befall them! This one is high on my list! Go to www.stupid.com!



6. Also at stupid.com comes a great stcking stuffer...BACON BANDAGES! Show off your newest injury by wearing a slab of bacon on your arm...TOO COOL!


7. And who doesn't need a retro fridge like this one...Just like in the good old days, only with the modern conveniences built in...and get a matching retro range while you are at it!

That's about all I got time for now....I'm sure I'll think of plenty other cool gifts I'll want before St. Nick comes around....so until then..

Keep Creatin'

F