Wednesday, December 06, 2006

The Fall of The House of Topps...or....Is this REALLY happening?

Music: Silver Bells: Dean Martin
Thoughts: Wacky Packages, slow computers and a big tapeworm

Well, the new series of Wacky Packages is out and being such a nut for wackies (or wackys as they are better known), I had to get me a couple packs when I first saw the 4th series out. So I bought myself two packs and bought a couple more for the boys (Kyran was the only with us so I figured Etienne would want one too when he got home from school....shows you what I know...he would have rather had a pack of Naruto cards...silly boy) So in the car, I opened my first pack and what do I find.....DOUBLES! So I figured it was just a one in a thousand chance so I open my other pack and what do I find???.....TWO SETS OF DOUBLES! So out of only 5 cards per pack, I only got three good cards! I figured it was just Floydian luck but then Kyran opened his pack and he ALSO got doubles....I started to sense a pattern....so when we got home I watched closely as Etienne opened his pack....and lo and behold....MORE DOUBLES! Once again, I chalked it all up to coporate earth cheating the consumer.....if Topps is putting doubles in EVERY pack, then I'm afraid my wacky days are over.....Although there are some good cards in the series and Topps has even returned the familiar gum to the packages along with "classic" foil cards and magnets, I cannot be a part of such a sneaky lowdown trick....how can they do this to CHILDREN....much less the children at heart like me.....we've approached a sad sad time ...
I wanted to post a couple of my favorite wackys from the new series, but apparently blogger is sleeping right now and won't let me download any pics....that's why yer stuck with just boring old letters this time around.
Along the same lines as the great wacky debacle is the great Coca Cola ripoff....is it just me or has anyone else noticed that the Coca Cola company quietly decided to start filling their bottles less full of soda and still saying that it's the same size? I notice these things and it cheeses me off.....when I buy a bottle of pop, I want a nice FULL bottle....the new coca cola bottles look like someone has already taken a swig out of them....from the 12oz to the 2 liter.....go check next time you are in a store....trust me on this....each ounce Coca Cola takes from all the bottles they fill probably adds up to ALOT of extra bottles and Thousands of dollars.....those Mormons are crafty I tell ya!
While I'm on the subject of pop....or soda...or whatever you may call it....let me say that Pepsi is not free from my grasp either....my beef with them is that they've "improved" the taste of Wild Cherry Pepsi....it used to be one of my favorites, but now it tastes to me like DIET!...What The Hell?!?!?!? Can't anyone leave anything alone???? So now, I have to buy Cherry Coke instead of Wild Cherry Pepsi because it tastes better....but guess what.....That;s right, They don't give you as much because they aren't filling the bottles up all the way!.....Is there no hope for mankind......and don't get me started on when they changed the label of Mountain Dew in '96 and took out all the carbonation....I'm doomed I tell ya....just doomed.......
That's it for today's exciting episode.....HEY! is anybody gonna leave me some comments??....just wondering'.....
Keep Creatin'
F

1 Comments:

Blogger Rusted Angel said...

The world is truly conspiring against you. Whenever I go to buy Coke products, a store clerk will motion to me and get me one of the full bottles from the special non-Floyd section in the back room.

Oh, crap, I don't think I was supposed to tell you that.

11:08 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home