Monday, July 04, 2011

NEW BLOG SET UP! Like anyone really cares!

I know I haven't posted in AGES...but the new blog and website can be found here with lots of clips and wonderful things to remind you how good or bad life used to be....

Wednesday, July 09, 2008

HERE WE GO AGAIN!!

Music: A Taste of Honey: Bobby Darin
Thoughts: What The HELL Am I Doing With My Life?
HEY! It's been awhile since I put my thoughts to keyboard and told everyone what I REALLY think. Well...lots has happened since the last time I wrote, I've moved twice, got a new job, got separated from my lovely wife (but don't cry for me Argentina) and generally am trying to make my way in this crazy world trying to keep me down. So what's changed though you ask?...ummm...not much really, still working on my books (although my pace could be a little quicker) still missing all the friends I once had that have faded away...and still feeling sorry for myself...but I digress...it's time to begin anew, both with this blog and with my life...so come share with me and I promise not to pull any punches.

First up....small press projects: As many of you know...and if you don't then HRMMPPHH!, I started a new magazine called KA-WHUMP. In it I give the lowdown on what's going on in the small press network, throw in some articles and comics and top it off with a bunch of reviews....it's a fun book to do and so far, it's been favorably received by my peers..However, do to my time constraints, I find it hard to get out on a regular schedule...been almost a year since the last issue but I hope to change that soon (yeah, soon as I get some money to print the new issue). So along with that, there's the Ka-Whump website at http://www.ka-whump.com/ where we just basically hang out and talk small press and pop culture...you know...REAL pop culture...not the PEOPLE crap about who was having a hotdog in downtown Manhattan or who has the most expensive shoes. So if you feel so inclined...hop on over and sign up and start hanging out...it's alot of fun and how else you gonna waste your life on the internet....the porn factor wears thin pretty quick.

Other than that, there's always that new issue of MONDO FLOD (speaking of pop culture) that looms above me....ah...someday....maybe soon. The fourth issue of this critically acclaimed title will delve deep into cereal boxes and promos....plus a few surprises! should be a fun read when I get it all together. So that's pretty much what I'm concentrating on aside from the random projects I work on here and there...I'll be going into more detail in future Mondo Blogs. I'll also be doing my share of ranting...after all, it's all about the Floydman here and what I think...and this being an election year...I should have alot of material.


So I'll try and keep on top of things here...but until then, Keep Creatin' and Keep Up The Fight!
F

Labels: , , ,

Thursday, December 14, 2006

The Storm of The Century..or at least the last couple of years...

Music: Misty Mountain Hop: Led Zeppelin
Thoughts: HOO BABY! We got us a live one!

Thought it would be a good idea to update this blog because as of right now, we are smack dab in the middle of a great coastal storm. Yup, that's right...we've already lost power once tonight and there are wind gusts up to 100 mph coming through this part of the world. The picture posted is my balcony which once again lost the divider to the adjoining unit (the last one that fell was on the OTHER side and they seem to have secured THAT one pretty good as it's holding up against the brunt of the storm. This is why I love living at the coast...the element of danger...but not too dangerous, at least I know now kinda what the hurricanes of Florida must be like (only I'm sure they are MUCH more powerful).
Had to call in sick today, partly because of the storm but mostly because it seems I've come down with whatever new strange Asian disease the children of Lincoln County are currently passing around. Got the usual stuffyness and clogged up chest....UCK! Also they wanted me to pull a 3:30PM-1:00AM shift and turn around and go right back at 9:00 AM tomorrow....FORGET THAT! I would probably do it if I wasn't feeling as bad as I am, but as it is....I'll be back there before I know it...
Got hooked on the new version of MySpace for comic creators and apprecianados called what else..Comic Space . Not a whole lot to do now, but it looks to be quite the networking tool. Looking for creators to help out on Ka-Whump!, this just might be a good thing...running across alot of really talented people that I might otherwise overlook (and I've got 71 "friends" in just one day of joining!). If you get a chance, check it out...so far there's no place to respond to comments made to your homepage, but hopefully that'll change soon.
That's about it for now...still pretty windy outside, hope our sliding glass doors can stand up to it!
Until then, Keep Creatin'!
F

Sunday, December 10, 2006

Music: Magnolia Simms: The Monkees
Thoughts: Hypocrisy In Action

You know, I try not to talk bad about people because I understand that not everyone is quite as level or big headed as me...just kidding.
but sometimes, you just gotta take a stand and put your cards on the table and tell it like it is...this is one of those times.

I usually try and keep my politics to myself although most of you who know me know where I stand on things, but this time, I just gotta lay into someone....so get ready for a rant...and click the pic for a better idea of how I feel about political hypocrites.

That "someone" is Oregon senator Gordon Smith(R). Ok, here's a guy that I didn't like to begin with, this clown looks like a television evangelist straight out of Oral Roberts University. He's always taken the total right when it comes to ANY legislation that has to do with helping the poor, the sick and the elderly. If it's beneficial to multimillion corporations or anyone else that can fund his campaigns, then he's all for it. I think he's even had our supposed president over a few times to help him campaign (i.e. make him more money than he knows what to do with). So why am I so adamant about attacking this loser? Here's why, http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16115379/ Senator Smith now says that the Iraqi war is "criminal" and an outrage even though he's been gung ho from the start to send our boys over there to destroy the country (not that the soldiers themselves are personally destroying it mind you...but more ol' G.W. and his fantasy of being Superman moreso). He's voted for anything and everything that would support keeping our troops there "until the job is done". So why the about face now? well, let's see.....hmmm.....Republicans have seem to have lost favor with the public after being decimated in the last election....more people are coming to their senses (71%) and starting to think GW may have not been totally up front with us.....big surprise! Sheesh! I coulda told you that 5 years ago!
So now that everyone seems to be leaning toward the left, this has Gordy worried about his own political future....what to do....what to do.....I know! How about acting like I'm feeling the same as the majority and chastizing the war and the policies that got us into this mess...even though he helped those policies with his support and pompous attitude towards Iraq. I could go on and on, but what's the point....this guy's a jerk, let's get more of HIS kind out of office so we can finally start concentrating on helping our own instead of leaving others worse off.
On the same line, I'd just like to say that if ANYONE deserves to be the next president, it's our other Senator from Oregon Ron Wyden....now here's a real human who constantly devotes his time to help the elderly and work towards more affordable and accessible health care. I don't know Senator Wyden personally, but I vote for him every chance I can...in a Capitol full of stuffed shirts and arrogant millionaires, he's just a regular guy trying to do what's right.....RUN RON RUN!!! Heck, let's just all do a write in for the guy....here's his webpage http://wyden.senate.gov/
Ok...just had to share...that's all...next time...no more politics...I promise!...well...maybe...after all, Bush is going to try again to convince us that we really CAN win the war in Iraq....would have been much simpler if we had a decent supreme court after his first "election"...
F

Wednesday, December 06, 2006

The Fall of The House of Topps...or....Is this REALLY happening?

Music: Silver Bells: Dean Martin
Thoughts: Wacky Packages, slow computers and a big tapeworm

Well, the new series of Wacky Packages is out and being such a nut for wackies (or wackys as they are better known), I had to get me a couple packs when I first saw the 4th series out. So I bought myself two packs and bought a couple more for the boys (Kyran was the only with us so I figured Etienne would want one too when he got home from school....shows you what I know...he would have rather had a pack of Naruto cards...silly boy) So in the car, I opened my first pack and what do I find.....DOUBLES! So I figured it was just a one in a thousand chance so I open my other pack and what do I find???.....TWO SETS OF DOUBLES! So out of only 5 cards per pack, I only got three good cards! I figured it was just Floydian luck but then Kyran opened his pack and he ALSO got doubles....I started to sense a pattern....so when we got home I watched closely as Etienne opened his pack....and lo and behold....MORE DOUBLES! Once again, I chalked it all up to coporate earth cheating the consumer.....if Topps is putting doubles in EVERY pack, then I'm afraid my wacky days are over.....Although there are some good cards in the series and Topps has even returned the familiar gum to the packages along with "classic" foil cards and magnets, I cannot be a part of such a sneaky lowdown trick....how can they do this to CHILDREN....much less the children at heart like me.....we've approached a sad sad time ...
I wanted to post a couple of my favorite wackys from the new series, but apparently blogger is sleeping right now and won't let me download any pics....that's why yer stuck with just boring old letters this time around.
Along the same lines as the great wacky debacle is the great Coca Cola ripoff....is it just me or has anyone else noticed that the Coca Cola company quietly decided to start filling their bottles less full of soda and still saying that it's the same size? I notice these things and it cheeses me off.....when I buy a bottle of pop, I want a nice FULL bottle....the new coca cola bottles look like someone has already taken a swig out of them....from the 12oz to the 2 liter.....go check next time you are in a store....trust me on this....each ounce Coca Cola takes from all the bottles they fill probably adds up to ALOT of extra bottles and Thousands of dollars.....those Mormons are crafty I tell ya!
While I'm on the subject of pop....or soda...or whatever you may call it....let me say that Pepsi is not free from my grasp either....my beef with them is that they've "improved" the taste of Wild Cherry Pepsi....it used to be one of my favorites, but now it tastes to me like DIET!...What The Hell?!?!?!? Can't anyone leave anything alone???? So now, I have to buy Cherry Coke instead of Wild Cherry Pepsi because it tastes better....but guess what.....That;s right, They don't give you as much because they aren't filling the bottles up all the way!.....Is there no hope for mankind......and don't get me started on when they changed the label of Mountain Dew in '96 and took out all the carbonation....I'm doomed I tell ya....just doomed.......
That's it for today's exciting episode.....HEY! is anybody gonna leave me some comments??....just wondering'.....
Keep Creatin'
F

Sunday, December 03, 2006

All I want for Christmas

Music: Rockin' Around The Christmas Tree: Brenda Lee
Thoughts: Getting things done!

Ok, last entry I talked about things I DON'T want for Christmas, this time I'll let everyone know what's on MY Christmas list..Or just weird things that EVERYONE should own!




1. The Drive In Exchange has released the ULTIMATE Drive In Intermission DVD taken from the 12 volumes of Something Weird Video's compilations and added some extra surprises......IT'S REFRESHMENT TIME!!



2. One of my favorites from Saturday morning has returned in this 2 DVD set of LANCELOT LINK! Thrills to the exciting exploits of the greatest super primate spy the world has ever known...well, at least when I was a kid, it was exciting...now it's probably pretty corny...but that makes it all the more of a MUST SEE TV!!



3. Can't get enough fun in the tub? Here's a great gift for the obsessive bather on your xmas list... celebrity rubber duckies! Shown here is Mr. T, but they come in everyone from Laurel and Hardy to Tim Curry's Dr. Frankenfurter from the Rocky Horror Picture Show! Don't believe me? Find them here at celebriducks.com.



4. My latest obsession is with the company FUNKO who produces TONS of cool Wacky Wobblers and a line called Spastik Plastik....the containers alone are worth having...but the figures come in a great variety of retro looking freaks and creeps! As you can see...my favorite wobbler on my wish list is Colonel Sanders...but I also want the Franken-Berry in his Hot Rod....VROOOM VROOM!! Check out their great website at http://www.funko.com/



5. Here's the COOLEST set of figures that I've seen in awhile, it's the Horrified B-Movie Victims playset....A group of hapless innocent bystanders just waiting for the right disaster or giant creature to befall them! This one is high on my list! Go to www.stupid.com!



6. Also at stupid.com comes a great stcking stuffer...BACON BANDAGES! Show off your newest injury by wearing a slab of bacon on your arm...TOO COOL!


7. And who doesn't need a retro fridge like this one...Just like in the good old days, only with the modern conveniences built in...and get a matching retro range while you are at it!

That's about all I got time for now....I'm sure I'll think of plenty other cool gifts I'll want before St. Nick comes around....so until then..

Keep Creatin'

F






Saturday, November 25, 2006

50 things I would NEVER own!


Music: Christmastime Is Here : Vince Guaraldi Trio
Thoughts: Landlords, bacon, holidays and sore ankles...

OK, here's a good way to learn a bit about me....now why would anyone want to do that? I can't answer that....but maybe you are in some serious need of therapy, medication, a good lay or maybe you are just out and out certifiable..who knows...but in this time of holiday cheer, instead of giving you an idea of what I want, here's my list of what NOT to get me...in no particular order...

1. A Cowboy Hat (Yup, that's raught!)

2. An Electric Shaver (Works like a disposable and more expensive to boot!)

3. Potted Meat Food Product (Yummy....animal parts conveniently packaged!)

4. any CD that is listed under the Hip-Hop or Rap category (why should MY hard earned money be used to post bail for these untalented losers?)

5. Any copy of US magazine (or People (although i have to admit that I have an old issue of People celebrating the 20th anniversary of The Summer Of Love)).

6. Macrame ('Nuff said)

7. Any book written by Jerry Falwell, Oral Roberts, Jimmy Swaggert or Rush Limbaugh (These guys can write?)

8. A DVD copy of Will and Grace (people wonder why people hate homosexuals so much, but praise this crap as being "groundbreaking". I personally think this show is an INSULT to homosexuals everywhere...but that's just me....)

9. Any product that is edorsed by or is named after Jessica Simpson (I guess that could go for OJ simpson as well....but Natalie and the kids still like their fresh squeezed in the mornings...)

10. Holiday socks (??????)

11. Animated Holiday singing toys ( Although they are good for at least 3 viewings...but after that, what the hell are you REALLY going to do with them??)

12. Beef Tongue (Has anyone ever really eaten and enjoyed this delicacy?)

13. Diet Pepsi (Sacrifice taste in the name of being thin)

14. A subscription to Sports Illustrated (Well, if I WANTED the swimsuit issue, I'd just buy a copy...SHEESH!)

15. A meth pipe (The idiot's BEST FRIEND!)

16. A Egg Scrambler (Remember the FORK???...or more importantly...HOW TO USE IT???)

17. Mittens (ok...what's the point??? WEAR GLOVES!!!)

18. A Ferrett (ACK! WHO LET THAT FRIGGIN' WEASEL IN HERE???Or is it a rat??...or....just WHERE THE HELL DID THOSE THINGS COME FROM???)

19. A Madonna CD (Curse she who is responsible for the destruction of popular music)

20. Quick Gems by Conair (ok...now I firmly believe that this here is the absolute positively STUPIDEST product ever created....take a look at the link http://www.conairstyle.com/...who the hell wants to go around with rocks in their friggin' hair???? DUMB! DUMB! DUMB!,,,,,so expect it to sell lots!)

21. A confederate flag (YEEEEEE HAAWWWWW!)

22. Any movie starring Mariah Carey, Carmen Elektra or Eminen (ummm did they actually act??....can they??)

23. A stupid magnet telling people I support our troops (Look, I support the troops alright...granted, I don't support the military, the cowards who sent the troops there, the generals who sit back and send the troops out to die, the fat ignorant people who think we are doing the right thing while turning around and accusing everyone of Arab descent of being a terrorist, the corporations who are swooping in to act as "heroes" by providing basic neccesities to the people of Iraq after we took them all away from them, the congressmen who think people are just numbers and not flesh and blood.....but I support the troops....well, except those who think like any of the above....) I just don't need to advertise that I'm a political puppet who has to look patriotic just so I don't get accused of being Anti-American. (Now THAT one should generate some comments...eh?)

24. "GRILLZ" ( Ok, now how stupid is THIS??? I want them to rip out my teeth one by one so I can replace it with gold?? How about pewter...or resin....or even Floam??....like these guys weren't ugly enough!...oh, you mean it just fits OVER your teeth....now how stupid is THAT????!!!!))
25. Pet clothing (If animals were meant to wear clothes, they would have been born with good credit)
26. Nazi Propoganda (What has 200 legs and three teeth? A KKK rally!)
27. Anything having to do with Britney Spears (Yes, that includes K-Fed)
28. Pocket protectors (A good idea given a bad rap from nerds and geeks)
29. Guns (see number 21)
30. A stupid looking Honda clown car with 21 inch rims and really tacky vinyl graphics that THUMPS when you drive it. (Yo yo yo....I'm Friggin' deaf AND dumb!)
31. Anything argyle (Long story...stems from a bad experience with Argyle during my high school days)
32. A Turkey fryer (ok....are these REALLY neccessary??)
33. A crucifix (should I say it...dare i??...ok, one of the symbols of the downfall of the human race....OUCH!)
34. The head of a once live animal hanging on my wall (Ah, nothing says redneck better than showing off your conquest of an unarmed opponent)
35.THE FIST (If you don't know what it is, use your imagination...if you DO know what it is, then you are as perverted as me...congratulations!).
36. A Michael Jackson T-Shirt (Although ROCK WITH YOU was a damn cool song.....wasn't it?)
37. Anything having to do with Paris Hilton (please make her go away....p-please???)
38. Any clothing with the name Jesus on it (Again, there I go on an anti religious bit...You know, it's not that I'm picking on the religious right....I just don't agree with it....see title of this blog...)
39. Flowery Grandma furniture (Is there anyone who thinks this stuff looks stylish?)
40. A truck that requires an 8 foot ladder to get into (Always reminds me of the saying, the bigger the truck, the smaller the penis)
41. Butterfinger candy bars (why? I dunno.....but GAWD I can't stand 'em....UCK!)
42. Weapons of Mass Destruction ( I guess Saddam and I DO have something in common...)
43. A tattoo with anyone's name (Tattoo rule #1.....so who didn't follow this one?....Angelina?)
44. Nacho Cheese Doritos (Another thing I just can't stand....maybe too many bad flashbacks of latenite parties and nothing to eat....DOUBLE UCK!)
45. A six pack of beer (also includes a 40 ouncer or any other container of that nasty liquid)
46. Any kind of souvenir items from Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia or Texas (Don't have to worry about somehow obtaining one of these because I have no desire to visit ANY of these places in my lifetime)
47. Any TBN "Love Gift" (OK, OK, we get it....Floyd doesn't like religion! true, but what I like less is people using religion for personal gain!)
48. A shower cap ( Don't you take a shower to wash your hair???...That's how I thought it worked...)
49. Dead sea animals ( It's FUN to go to the beach and buy dead sea animals imported from the Phillipines...isn't it?)
50. And last but CERTAINLY not least, ANY Pro Rebulican propaganda include Bush bumper stickers, books, shirts and anything else that might suggest my acceptance of the farcical administration that brought down this country in the 6 short years of doing business.
So, there you have it...you may not agree with me, but that's fine, this is STILL the land of the free and although that freedom is getting less and less as the years go on, I'm still proud to exercise my right as an American (uh, oh....I'm getting patriotic...better stop before someone thinks I'm up to something!).
Next time....COOL STUFF FOR CHRISTMAS!
Keep Creatin'
F